In Defense of Selfies

me126
[Reposted from the archives of my previous blog]

Hey y’all.

Lately I’ve seen a lot of negativity on social media regarding selfies, and the people who take them. Not only do I find it rude, cruel and unnecessary, but it’s just invalid!

There’s nothing I love more than when I get a text from my best friend saying “peep insta.” When I do peep insta, I see a beautiful selfie of my bff killin’ the brow game or wearing a super cute outfit.

See, the thing about selfies is that you’re seeing a person in control. You’re seeing a person who is so confident in their appearance that they’re eager to share their beauty with the entire world. You’re seeing a person who has probably (given society’s beauty standards) felt ugly or ashamed of themselves in the past, and has now overcome that. You’re seeing strength and happiness and self love. Selfies are actually pretty important.

Leave a Reply

